Pollies citizens need to pass media reforms

Artist Martin Davies.

Artist Martin Davies.

By Margo Kingston
March 17, 2013

Public support will be crucial to the success of the media reforms. Please contact the following key politicians whose decisions will determine the outcome. You CAN make a difference.

This list was kindly compiled by Barry Tucker @btckr

Adam Bandt Twitter @adambandt
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Adam.Bandt.MP
email [email protected]
Canberra (02) 6277 4775
FAX ACT (02) 6277 8583

Rob Oakeshott Twitter @OakeyMP
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/people/Robert-Oakeshott/1415774696
email http://www.aph.gov.au/R_Oakeshott_MP
Canberra (02) 6277 4052
FAX: (02) 6277 8403

Andrew Wilkie Twitter @WilkieMP
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/andrewwilkiemp
Canberra (02) 6277 4766
FAX: (02) 6277 8579

Tony Windsor Twitter @TonyWindsorMP
emails www.aph.gov.au/T_Windsor_MP |
[email protected]
Canberra (02) 6277 4722
FAX: (02) 6277 8545

Craig Thomson @DobellThommo
No Facebook
Website http://www.aph.gov.au/C_Thomson_MP
no email
Canberra (02) 6277 4460
FAX: (02) 6277 2123

Bob Katter @RealBobKatter
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/bobkattermp
email [email protected]
Personal website http://www.bobkatter.com.au/
Party website http://www.ausparty.org.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4978
FAX: (02) 6277 8558

Tony Crook
email http://www.tonycrook.com.au/contact.aspx
Kalgoorlie Office
Phone (08) 9021 1241
Mobile    1300 772 061
FAX (08) 9021 1506

Peter Slipper
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/PeterSlipperMP
[email protected]
Canberra (02) 6277 4490
FAX: (02) 6277 8405

The Nationals (traditional supporters of media diversity)

Warren Truss
Personal website http://www.warrentruss.com/
PARTY website http://www.nationals.org.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4482
FAX: (02) 6277 8569

Senator Barnaby Joyce  @Barnaby_Joyce
Email [email protected]
Personal website http://www.barnabyjoyce.com.au/
Canerra (02) 6277 3244
FAX: (02) 6277 3246

Darren Chester
Personal website http://www.darrenchester.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4029
Fax: (02) 6277 8402
George Christensen
Twitter @GChristensenMP
Canberra (02) 6277 4538
Fax: (02) 6277 8508

John Cobb
email [email protected]
website http://www.johncobb.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4721
Fax: (02) 6277 8543
John Forrest
email [email protected]
website http://www.jforrest.com/
Canberra (02) 6277 4550
Fax: (02) 6277 8532

Luke Hartsuyker
email [email protected]
website http://www.lukehartsuyker.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4447
Fax: (02) 6277 8410

Michael MCormack
Twitter @M_McCormackMP
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/people/Michael-McCormack/100002102184276
Website http://www.michaelmccormack.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4725
Fax: (02) 6277 8563

Mark Coulton
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/people/Mark-Coulton/732382571
email [email protected]
Personal website http://www.markcoulton.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4607
Fax: (02) 6277 8504

Paul Neville
email [email protected]
Personal website http://www.paulneville.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4940
Fax: (02) 6277 8559

Ken O’Dowd
Personal website http://www.kenodowd.com.au/
Canberra (02) 6277 4380
Fax: (02) 6277 8495

Bruce Scott
email [email protected]
Personal website http://www.maranoa.info/
Canberra (02) 6277 4949
Fax: (02) 6277 8421

Support an independent media voice. Support No Fibs Citizen Journalism.
Monthly Donation


  1. I just realized how pathetic I was. I started to copy email addresses and then when I realized I had to scroll down and include a lot more addresses, I thought “bugger this, it’s too much work!”. I’m not sure whether there are others like me who want all this change but aren’t willing to go that extra effort and stand up and do something, but it was a good mental jog for me. PS I did send them all an email.

  2. Some say ‘in the public interest’ others say ‘in the national interest’, I believe it should be in the interest of the consumer, who actually pays for the publication or broadcast.
    Rather than in the broader interests mentioned above that begin to look like political or pecuniary interests come before the individual’s right to fair and accurate reporting and journalism, free from the pressures of either the public or national interest.

  3. Robert Roestenburg says

    This page is worth gold! I put it under ‘favorites’ so I can access the details later as well. I e-mailed Barnaby Jones as he supported media changes in the past and hopefully will do so now.

  4. Not often I feel sorry for a politician.

    Voting yes will, of course, prove that these reforms are indeed necessary, because the big players in the newspapers will take it out on those who vote for it.

    And then of course, TA will reverse them if he gets in. No wonder Senator Conroy will not commit to putting it to a vote.

    Damned if you do … damned if you don’t.

    My description of the MSM – Lying Nasty Perfidious. LNP for short!

  5. Warren Truss email address to add to the above list is [email protected]

  6. Darren Chester email address to add to the above list is [email protected]

  7. Alrighty, emailed all the above, except for a few that had to be sent via forms on their website & 5 that I had to tweet as I could not track down their email either :(

    Tweeted Open Letter as follows: http://yathink.com.au/article-display/open-letter-to-our-elected-federal-government-representatives,59

    Let me know if there are others we also need to contact or changes that I should make on open letter that will better state the case for Media Reform ‘yes’ vote :)

  8. I have put a daggy little Pub Poll about Media Reform on my Open Letter to MP’s, so please VOTE & ask others to vote as well, maybe if we get enough numbers can help sway some of the above? http://yathink.com.au/article-display/open-letter-to-our-elected-federal-government-representatives,59